It’s been so long!

Hi there! and apologies if  anyone is actually following the stories here. I have been a bit down of the writing side of my life and not feeling that it is worth the effort really. Not that I’ve stopped writing I just haven’t felt that anyone would want to read it. That’s probably still true but my daughter, Genevieve, has told me I must do this blogging and get my stuff out there on the social media. So here I am again trying to rejoin the 21st century.

I will post the next chapter of Sinbad and a new short story when I finish this blog.

I am into the final term of my Masters degree and my Exegesis is coming along quite nicely. My supervisor, Barbara Brooks, is a gem. She has been most helpful and easy to communicate with. I have already handed in the first draft and got her valuable feedback. Draft 2 due on the 23rd of this month and I am on track to complete that easily. The final draft is due around the end of October. I will post the end result here.

You’d think that ought to free me up but no, glutton for punishment that I am, I have signed up for another course at JCU, “Academic and Thesis Writing Workshops”. It’s on every Tuesday for 8 weeks. I figure even if I never use it for my own doctorate I may get work editing Theses and other papers so I’d better get some idea of exactly what is required.

I am still working on my “Ruth” novel and slowly getting there. Yesterday (Sat 17th) I attended a QWC workshop on Crime Writing and found it very useful and Pam Newton the speaker was well prepared and knowledgeable. She an ex-police detective and has written a novel called “The Old School”, which won the Asher Award

I have done nothing with Sinbad or the fantasy one. I have written some new poetry and entered some competitions but have not even been shortlisted, still when I read the names on the short list it is little wonder mine isn’t up there. I’ll keep trying. They are pretty big comps so it takes a lot of time to get back results and I can’t publish until I get rejected. Lol!

Well, better get those new pieces up. See you soon. Rosa.

 

About rosepoetartist

aka Percy Rose Novelist Poet Playwright Artist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s been so long!

  1. Genevieve says:

    Glad you’re back online Mum!!! Keep at it and I can’t wait to read your latest works!

  2. Welcome back! I can’t wait to read your stuff (…and it’s always worth it!).

Leave a Reply

