Busy, busy, busy!

I haven’t written anything here for a while for a number of reasons. I am going to bore you with the details…well, some of them anyway. First, I have more hours at my place of paid work. Yaaah! I don’t mind living on the edge but things were uncomfortably tight for a while there.

On 2nd Sept POTheads had their meeting and though there were only a few of attending it was again very successful, with lots of positive feed-back and fun. Afterwards some of us went out for Mexican. More talk and laughter. Thanks guys for giving me reason to keep going and being so very inclusive. Jac and Kate are very busy preparing for the start ‘Crash Test Drama’ here in Townsville, on October 6th. Please support us if you can. We had a dry-run on Fri a week ago. Thanks to the actors who came along to help us out. It was great to get the feel for how it is going to happen. POTheads won’t meet, officially, in October but we will be back on track in November. After the run through we went to Jac’s place for a Poker night. We were unfazed by the fact that none of us really knew what the hell we were doing. That just made it more interesting. Luckily Kate knew what the different winning hands were, with a little help from google. While playing we went around the table asking questions about life and writing. I’m sure we were all deep and meaningful in our answers…if only I could remember. 4am bedtime does bad things to my memory. Since then I have started another play, which will be ready for POTTY check soon. It is based on a poem I wrote and performed a couple of years ago for the Charters Towers Miners’ Ball. The theme of which was C.T. history and ghosts.

I haven’t written anything new for ‘Jenny’s Story’, or done any editing for RIP. Looks like I will have to go ahead with my final edit before submission without any feedback from my beta readers. Slackers. Oh well, that’s life. The writers’ group I attend has been out for a couple of weeks but will be back this week coming. Last time,  I read part of the first chapter of J’s S and they are all now well aware of just how much madness is trapped in my head and dying to get out. (mhaw ha hahaha! or something like that.)

Off writing for the moment, I went to the cinema and saw ‘The Sapphires’ with my best bud and was rewarded with a terrific couple of hours to total entertainment. Debbie Mailman is a fabulous actor and Jessica Mauboy’s voice is superb. The story was gripping, and funny, and romantic, and gritty. I loved it and will buy the DVD so I can watch it over and over.

On the painting front, I am doing a watercolour of a koala. I find furry animals much more difficult that feathers, but he is turning out quite well. However, I haven’t done his face yet. Gulp! I tried to paint my eldest daughters dog, Charlie, once and it was rubbish. Hope this one turns out better than that. And that, my friends is what I’m going to do right now. See you next time. Cheers, Rosa.

About rosepoetartist

aka Percy Rose Novelist Poet Playwright Artist
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Busy, busy, busy!

  1. Sounds like you’re having fun!

  2. dalefurse says:

    Glad to hear you’re making time to paint. Hope to hear how your play went.

  3. Hey Mum!
    I’ve tagged you! Mwah hah hah hah haaaaah! You don’t have to participate if you don’t want, but here’s the post in which you were tagged:
    http://smcarriere.webs.com/apps/blog/show/19499939-the-next-big-thing

Leave a Reply

