Aaarrrgg! I’ve been tagged!

Yes, I have. The beautiful, intelligent, prolific author of ‘The Dying God” and soon to be released ‘Ethan Cadfael – Battle Prince’, S. M. Carriere, has tagged me in an online play to help lesser known authors become better known, and already successful ones get even more exposure. The idea is that I now have to answer a set of questions then tag other authors and the author who tagged me. Here are the questions…( I copied and pasted the questions ’cause I didn’t know how else to do it)

What is the working title of your book?

The one most nearly ready for queries is ‘Ruth In Pieces’.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

It was going to be a sort of fictitious memoir but, though still containing some elements of my own life, has morphed into a monster. I never expected to write anything like this, and those who know me best have been shocked to see this dark spark.

What genre does your book fall under?

Er…psychological thriller? Crime?

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Ruth would be someone like Meryl Streep or Cate Blanchett. The others, I have no idea. I would prefer Australian actors. Support local.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

In the eighteen hours before she suicides, Ruth looks back over her life, loves, travels and murders.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

It will have to be main-stream publishing for me. I am soooo bad at all this self-promotion stuff. I do not keep up my blog as I should. I never tweet. I am flat out bothering with Facebook, though I do have a page dedicated to ‘Ruth in Pieces’. I do try but get side-tracked by my writing, my mortgage-paying job, my painting, my theatre interest – well, life in general.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

2-3 years. I was busy doing my Masters in creative Writing at J.C.U. during that time. I used it as my thesis. It was a very interesting exercise to write an exegesis on my own work.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I really have no idea. I have been influenced by ‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’, ‘The seven faces of Eve’ and the like, but the truth is…I really have no idea.

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

My Prof, Lindsay Simpson, wanted me to write a memoir. I balked at the idea for personal reasons, so between us we came up with the idea of a fictionalised version, the trouble is when I started writing I really went off on a tangent. Then Ruth took over and I had no more say.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Ummm…it touches on euthanasia, are criminals evil or victims, who is sane anyway? That sort of stuff. There are some interesting descriptions of far, exotic locations.

There you go. Now I tag others and away it goes. I hope you follow the writers below. They are really interesting people and I enjoy their writing very much. Cheers for now Rosa… Oh, of course, any of the people mentioned below do not have to participate, but I am interested. And don’t forget to tag the author who tagged you. Cheers, Rosa

Dale Furse

Gabrielle Wang

Lindsay Simpson

Peter Watt
Raymond Hawkins

About rosepoetartist

aka Percy Rose Novelist Poet Playwright Artist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Aaarrrgg! I’ve been tagged!

  1. Awesome, Mum! Thanks for participating!

  2. dalefurse says:

    That’s a really good idea. Thanks Rosa for thinking of me and thanks Sonya for tagging your mum. Um how do I tag you back and tag other authors, Rosa?

Leave a Reply

