Categories
Uncategorized Writing

Research

This morning  I ran away from home. I threw a few things in a suitcase, jumped in the car and the dog and I set off on an adventure. I just left the house as is (or should that be was)  and off we went.

You probably don’t remember, because I don’t blog often enough, but I’ve  written a couple of books involving the Kabi Kabi people from the Gympie area of south-east Queensland.  I decided that I would at last try to double check my facts and make sure that what I’ve written doesn’t offend or transgress any taboos. Yes I know I’ve said I’ve already written them, but they’re not yet published so better late than never, right?

I met a wonderful writer, Leslie Williams (author of Not Just Black and White)  who gave me a number of someone in Gympie who might be able to help me. I’ve contacted her and she feels doubtful that she can help, but I decided to take the bull by the horns hence my impromptu road trip.

I left home  (50kms north of Townsville)@ 6:15 hrs, drove about 1000km in 10hrs (don’t expect exact measurements from me).It was fine until about the last 150kms when I began to tire…I must be getting old, that used to be a snap not so long ago…

Anyway here I am tucked up in  bed at my friend’s house in Rockhampton, where I’ll stay for a couple of days before driving on to Gympie. I’ll let you know more as it happens. For now I must say goodnight and get some shut-eye.   Ciao for now…Rosa.

 

By rosepoetartist

aka Percy Rose - crime novels
Novelist
Poet
Playwright
Artist

2 replies on “Research”

Leave a comment